Reflective Cover Letter

Course Competencies, from:

The NCTE Definition of 21st Century Literacies

Below, I’ve broken down each of the course competencies listed in the NCTE definitions of 21st century literacies along with what I’ve learned and the other required information from the Course Portfolio project guidelines.

  • Develop proficiency with the tools of technology
    • what you learned:  I learned video editing software (Windows Movie Maker) and image editing software (Piknik).
    • where your learning is demonstrated in the course:
      • cite at least one major project assignment (and/or the work leading up to it) per competency and goal:  Image Project and Video Project
      • cite at least one reading per competency and goal:  Nam June Paik’s Cybernated Artfrom the New Media Reader always comes to mind when I consider the video project, especially because the intent of the project was to make meaning through the video medium.  Paik’s art was based in video, and was one of the first in the field.  Paik used the newest technology available to him to create an art, and I’m using newly learned technologies for a similar purpose.
        • Citation: Paik, Nam June. “Cybernated Art.” The New Media Reader. By Nick Montfort and Noah Wardrip-Fruin. Cambridge, Mass. [u.a.: MIT, 2003. 227-29. Print.
    • why and how you still need to grow in that area:  I still only have a basic understanding of both the video and image editing technologies, so there’s an entire world of tech knowledge out there for me to acquire.
    • how, when, where and why you might use this information or skill in the future:  Image editing software is useful for my blogging hobby, so I’m glad I got a little more familiar with that, even if Piknik is now defunct.  I think the skills will carry over.
  • Build relationships with others to pose and solve problems collaboratively and cross-culturally
    • what you learned: I took advantage of the awesome training skills of my fiance, who showed me some tricks in Windows Movie Maker and After Effects, and provided the voice for my video’s narration audio.
    • where your learning is demonstrated in the course:
      • cite at least one major project assignment (and/or the work leading up to it) per competency and goal:  Video Project
      • cite at least one reading per competency and goal:  New Media Design– I considered the sections on networking with peers and colleagues while making this project, and also our class discussions about using resources effectively.  I hate watching tutorial videos (hate. HATE.)  so it was really helpful to have an interactive educator on hand to show me some of the easier functions of the programs and let me work it out on my own.
        • Citation: Austin, Tricia, and Richard Doust. New Media Design. London: Laurence King Pub., 2007. Print.
    • why and how you still need to grow in that area:  Taking criticism isn’t one of my strong suits (especially if it’s coming from someone I didn’t ask), so I’ll still have to grow more in that aspect in order to really utilize a knowledge network to improve my products further.
    • how, when, where and why you might use this information or skill in the future:  This is an obvious one.  Knowing how to utilize your network of friends, colleagues, coworkers, and family in order to accomplish your goals is pretty easy.  In fact, my mom takes advantage of it all the time when she asks me to install printer drivers (or, “Make the printer work!”) or resize her monitor.  I’m lucky to have  lots of tech savvy friends and coworkers, so I feel pretty confident in my knowledge networking.
  • Create, critique, analyze, and evaluate multi-media texts
    • what you learned: Helpful critique skills and site creation skills.
    • where your learning is demonstrated in the course:
    • why and how you still need to grow in that area:  This is an area I feel that I have really gotten good at, but there’s always room for improvement.  For instance, I’m good with giving criticism, but I’m still not a big fan of receiving it.  I’m also good with certain aspects of tech creation, but not others.  I can troubleshoot in HTML and CSS, but I’m not great at building entire sites from the ground up.
    • how, when, where and why you might use this information or skill in the future: In my current position, I edit and test training software for the military.  I write and QA courseware that will be taught to students in military and many government positions, so my paycheck comes from my critical evaluation skills.  I have to read through the work of others, point out inconsistencies, grammatical errors, and functionality or usability problems, and then ensure that the changes I requested were implemented by a team of graphic artists, writers, and programmers.
  • Attend to the ethical responsibilities required by these complex environments
    • what you learned:  Copyright law and variations in citation style.
    • where your learning is demonstrated in the course:
      • cite at least one major project assignment (and/or the work leading up to it) per competency and goal: We analyzed the citation style of Road Trip by Lynda R. Stephenson on Kairos, and presented on the varied ways she chose to cite her sources.  We determined that the citation styles were pretty inconsistent, and couldn’t really understand the reasoning behind those differences in all cases.
      • cite at least one reading per competency and goal:  Road Trip by Lynda R. Stephenson on Kairos
    • why and how you still need to grow in that area:  I’m still no expert on copyright law, and I’m still a little inconsistent with my citation style.  I usually use MLA, but sometimes I’ll just link to the original source without all the formal citation credits if I’m doing it in an online setting.
    • how, when, where and why you might use this information or skill in the future: Copyright law is constantly in the media, so that’s something I’m sure I haven’t heard the last of.  Especially with music, movies, and other media that’s easily accessible online, it’s a topic that never seems to die out these days.  Citation skills are useful because of common courtesy, for one, and also because I don’t want to be sued by someone for accidentally stealing their content.

Final Submissions

Projects

Reading, Thinking, and Reflecting Blogs

It’s been a fun semester and I definitely expanded the boundaries of my digital knowledge scope.  I hope this class has helped everyone else as well!

-Lianne

